Communities of Inquiry

Communities of Inquiry (COI) are the central threads that weave through all the work we do at Te Pūnaha Matatini.

Our three COIs provide leadership and community around key practices that are fundamental for research at Te Pūnaha Matatini. They weave people and knowledges together, lead by example, and create space for bold and transformative ideas to grow.

Our COIs are open to anyone to everyone at Te Pūnaha Matatini.

Complexity COI

The Complexity COI provides leadership in the development and application of complex systems methods. It aims to empower investigators and students to work collaboratively and ethically on big data, including national databases, and the modelling and analysis of complex systems in a diverse range of applications and contexts.


  • Matt Parry (Lead)
  • Ilze Ziedins
  • Emily Harvey

Culture of Research Excellence COI

The Culture of Research Excellence COI grows a culture of research grounded in Te Tiriti, partnerships, multidisciplinarity, theoretical rigour, and equitable outcomes by developing research teams that are able to nurture and innovate ideas from inception to publication. Providing a meeting point for a range of methodologies, and drawing from kindness in science in particular, we lead the transformation of research both within and outside of Te Pūnaha Matatini.


  • Tammy Steeves (Lead)
  • Krushil Watene
  • Sereana Naepi

Engagement COI

The Engagement COI is an opportunity for anyone involved in Te Pūnaha Matatini to connect with others who are interested in communication and engagement – be that sharing experiences, learning new skills, getting involved in hands-on activities, developing new ideas or simply meeting like-minded people. Supported by a vibrant core of Te Pūnaha Matatini energy, we also hope to enable those who want to become champions, knowledge-holders and agents for engagement activities within their own Te Pūnaha Matatini projects, research groups and home institutions.


  • Mckayla Holloway (Lead)
  • Rhian Salmon
  • Chrissie Painting
  • Jonathan Burgess (Ex officio)